Info for Your Squashgame

Correctly hitting the ball

Published: 18 Mar 2012 - 20:16 by doubledot

Updated: 19 Mar 2012 - 11:51

Subscribers: Log in to subscribe to this post.

The definition from the rules for Correctly hitting the ball includes not hitting more than once.   Sometimes when getting under the ball with a open racket face the ball comes off the frame first and then onto the strings in the one forward motion.   Is this hitting the ball twice.   We have one particular player in our pennant who consistently penalises himself if he thinks it comes off his frame first.   Apparently with tennis if it is all in the forward motion the shot is correct?   Any help would be appreciated.

Sorry should have been in Squash Forum not SquashStory....

squash game squash extras How to add images to Members' Forum posts and replies here...


Please Note: The most recent replies are now at the top!

From rippa rit - 19 Mar 2012 - 11:51

Sounds like a "double hit" to me.  You cannot double hit in tennis either.  One hit, ie off the frame, off the strings, off the handle, but not both.

Back to top

From mike - 19 Mar 2012 - 11:26

 If the ball leaves the frame (i.e. touches nothing but air) then hits the strings I would consider that a double hit. If somehow it rolled or slid from the frame to the strings without any departure that would be okay in my opinion, provided the contact time wasn't excessive (i.e. carrying).


It's going to be hard to judge this. The player is probably the only one who could feel re-contact of the ball hitting strings after the frame.

Back to top

Sorry, only members can post replies on this and all other Members` Forum items.

Join Here - It`s fast and it`s free!

Check other member benefits here...

Support Squashgame

Support us here at! If you think we helped you, please consider our Squash Shop when purchasing or make a small contribution.

Products Now Available

US Squash Shop



Squash Balls


Squash Rackets

Sport and Leisure

Video Games


Facebook Link



....... went to the squash lesson with the printout from and gave it to my "not-virtual" coach. He said 'Well, fantastic progress,.....

Sorry, logins temporarily disabled

We hope to see you back soon when we launch our updated site.