Info for Your Squashgame

rules on letting your opponent out from the wall

Published: 20 May 2013 - 19:13 by vanleeuwen

Updated: 17 Jul 2013 - 14:07

Subscribers: Log in to subscribe to this post.

 I'm noticing a trend at one of the clubs I play at where people are trying to earn strokes off of perfectly executed defensive slow high tight shots up and down the wall.  There's time to clear but the reciever does not give the striker any room to clear creating interference that they would then use to try to justify a stroke.  In fact , I feel that it should be a no let if this is done intentionally as this tactic removes the straight tight defensive shot from the game which I feel should always be an option.   Can you really force me from playing tight shots with this tactic even if I take all the pace off the shot?  Can you pin me against the wall and use your body to prevent me from getting out of the way intentionally?   I think this is terrible sportsmanship but don't know where in the rules this would be covered.   I think the interference section that says if reciever creates the intereference a no let should be awarded.......   Does that apply to this situation?   What prevents a player from using this tactic?  People usually talk about moving the wrong way to the ball.  But here all you have to do is anticipate there shot and follow your opponent into the wall.        Comment please....   Can you force your opponent to hit more cross courts with this tactic?

squash game squash extras How to add images to Members' Forum posts and replies here...

Replies...

Please Note: The most recent replies are now at the top!

From Boasting - 17 Jul 2013 - 14:07

I'm not sure I understand what you are describing. If your opponent is crowding you when you are playing your shot, then perhaps you should be calling a let and if they are preventing your swing you should get a stroke. Or if it is not that close, perhaps you should be playing a cross-court as it seems they are anticipating the straight drive.

You are correct that if the striker creates the interference themselves then it is a No Let, but I'm not 100% certain that this is happening from what you are describing. Once you have played your shot it is up to you to make every effort to clear the ball, and if your opponent is moving in to play their return it's not really up to them to make space for you to clear the ball. If they are in a position to play the ball and you are in their swing then they are entitled to a Stroke.

Perhaps I am missing something but it almost sounds like the shot you are describing is not perfectly executed.

Back to top

Sorry, only members can post replies on this and all other Members` Forum items.

Join Here - It`s fast and it`s free!

Check other member benefits here...


Support Squashgame

Support us here at Squashgame.info! If you think we helped you, please consider our Squash Shop when purchasing or make a small contribution.

Products Now Available

US Squash Shop

Accessories

Apparel

Squash Balls

Footwear

Squash Rackets

Sport and Leisure

Video Games

Share/Save/Bookmark

Facebook Link

 

 Testimonials

Each member of staff does a fantastic job and I envy each of you in your positions.

Sorry, logins temporarily disabled

We hope to see you back soon when we launch our updated site.