Info for Your Squashgame

Beginner service question

Published: 15 Nov 2007 - 01:31 by badjojo

Updated: 24 Sep 2008 - 17:17

Subscribers: Log in to subscribe to this post.

Hello!

I'm a beginner, and I looked everywhere but could not manage to find a response to the following question about service rules:

what happens if the ball hits the front wall, and then the back wall (under the 2 meters-and-something out line) before hitting the floor  (in the right square of course)? does the fact that the back wall was touched make the service invalid?

Is the service valid if the ball hits the front wall, the lateral wall and then the backwall before hitting the floor at the right place?

Cause I understood every rule concerning service, squares limits, front and lateral walls, but nothing was said about back wall...

It would be really great if one of you was kind enough to bring me this infomation!

Many thanks in advance ;-)

 

 

 

 

squash game squash extras How to add images to Members' Forum posts and replies here... PSA Squash TV - North American Open 2012

Replies...

Please Note: The most recent replies are now at the top!

From badjojo - 16 Nov 2007 - 20:33

Ok thank you Mike for the piece of advice!


I have now watched some video tutorials in which service is explained (where to hit the wall, which gesture to use amongst 5 or 6, etc...). And since I always played against beginners, I realise that even if we have fun, the way we play is all wrong ;-)


But now, I know that hitting the back wall is legal, even if it's not recommended!


Thank you!

 

Back to top

From mike - 16 Nov 2007 - 11:02

Tactically speaking it's usually a bad idea to hit the back wall before the floor. The ball will bounce out and give your opponent plenty of room to hit their shot of choice.

As far as the rules are concerned though, it's absolutely fine (as Ray says).

Back to top

From badjojo - 15 Nov 2007 - 02:38   -   Updated: 15 Nov 2007 - 02:39

thank you very much, raystrach, for having responded so quickly! your answer is very clear, and I think I can now play with peace of mind ;-)


PS: sorry for my poor english, it's not my mother tongue...

Back to top

From raystrach - 15 Nov 2007 - 01:50

hi badjojo
as long as it hits the front wall first above the cut line and it eventually lands in the correct service box (or is volleyed before it hits the floor) and it does not go out anywhere, it can hit as many walls as it likes, including the back wall.

just to repeat

  • front wall first above the cut line
  • does not go out
  • lands in the correct service box

everything else in of no consequence in relation to the rules. you are now in business!!

Back to top

Sorry, only members can post replies on this and all other Members` Forum items.

Join Here - It`s fast and it`s free!

Check other member benefits here...


Support Squashgame

Support us here at Squashgame.info! If you think we helped you, please consider our Squash Shop when purchasing or make a small contribution.

Products Now Available

Dunlop Sports Pro XX Squash 3 Ball Tube

Price: $10.95 (us)

Dunlop Sports Pro XX Squash Ball - 3 Ball Tube

Price: $10.99 (us)

HEAD Nano Ti 110 Squash Racquet, Natural, One Size

Price: $44.67 (us)

Dunlop Squash Court Pack

Price: $49.95 (us)

Tecnifibre CarboFlex 125 Squash Racquet

Price: $129.00 (us)