Info for Your Squashgame

Turning

Published: 09 Apr 2005 - 08:30 by aprice1985

Updated: 13 Apr 2005 - 08:11

Subscribers: Log in to subscribe to this post.

I know that it is unacceptable to turn on the ball off the serve on the backhand side but can you turn during normal play or on the foerhand side? I.e. if i play a drive into the back backhand corner and my opponent runs from the front backhand corner so that he is hitting a forehand shot across the court is that acceptable? Also can you turn on the forehand side off the serve?squash game squash extras How to add images to Members' Forum posts and replies here... PSA Squash TV - North American Open 2012

Replies...

Please Note: The most recent replies are now at the top!

From rippa rit - 13 Apr 2005 - 08:11

Hi aprice 1985 - It is still a good idea to read rules 9,12 and 17 to get a better understanding of the rules, but I think you are getting a grasp of it now.
I words "open play" I have never heard of before. Play is when the game starts, which is with the service of course. "Turning" is probably more likely, (i)from a return of service often caused by the feet/body position of the opponent in the back of the court (wanting to avoid hitting a backhand return), (ii)by the server overhitting the serve, (iii)a lob/toss overhit and bouncing into the middle of the court, and (iii)shots being hit down the middle of the court. Marking targets on the wall and floor will assist overcome these problems.

So, when you take a look at all the occasions "turning" can happen, mostly when the ball is out of control, it is not surprising why "turning" is such a difficult rule for players/referees; and the frustration it causes.

Back to top

From aprice1985 - 13 Apr 2005 - 06:06

And this applys both in open play and off the serve on the forehand and backhand? Also I feel that there are very few returns which required turning except off the serve as I have never turned in open play in three years.

Back to top

From rippa rit - 12 Apr 2005 - 08:30

aprice1985 - It seems you have not got this "turning" rule straight, and I probably have confused this issue too, and the latest amendments to "turning" have changed the emphasis. So, here is the current rule interpretation on "turning" - does it make sense to you now?:

When the Striker calls "let" the play stops. The decision to be made is:-

1. Could the return have been struck without "turning" ?

If YES, NO LET

If NO, provided the opponent's return would have gone
up, YES LET.

2. If the Striker hits the opponent, POINT TO OPPONENT, except if the ball was heading towards the side wall (see the explanation below).

3. If the Striker hits a winning return, POINT to the Striker.

Back to top

From aprice1985 - 11 Apr 2005 - 00:21

Yes but is the striker who is turning always entitled to call a let? Cause that seems unfair if I work them out of position and even if they hit the ball it will be a weak return but they can get a let because they turn.

Back to top

From rippa rit - 10 Apr 2005 - 21:29

aprice - your question for a ruling - if, after "turning", the ball heading to the side wall (before hitting the front wall) hits the opponent here is the quote:-
"If the ball either had struck, or would have struck, any other wall, and the return would have been good, a let is played.
If the return would not have been good, the striker loses the rally."

Back to top

From raystrach - 10 Apr 2005 - 18:04

dear aprice
the latest version of the rules prevents a player from turning if the turning is just an opportunity to appeal, rather than a genuine attempt to play the ball.(rule 9.2.3)

i understand this to mean that if a player has the opportunity to play the ball wthout turning, but then chooses to turn and play the ball, there is NO LET. So if the turning was the only option in retrieving the ball, play a let, if not, no let.

try this link:
http://www.worldsquash.co.uk/singles_rules.html

Back to top

From aprice1985 - 10 Apr 2005 - 09:24

So if my opponent turns and hits me, off a side wall or not, it is my point but they are always entitled to call a let even in open play?

Back to top

From rippa rit - 09 Apr 2005 - 09:07

Morning aprice -
There is nothing to stop a player from turning on the ball, though your opponent may not be pleased, particularly if they get hit. Here is an extract from the coaching tip "Ball hits player - Referee decision?" which is in the archives for you to read.
"Rule 9 - Turning.
If the striker has either followed the ball round, or allowed it to pass around him or her - in either case striking the ball to the right of the body after the ball had passed to the left (or vice-versa) - then the striker has "turned".
If the opponent is struck by the ball after the striker has turned, the rally is awarded to the opponent.
If the striker, while turning, stops play for fear of striking the opponent, then a let is played. This is the recommended course of action in situations where a player wants to turn but is unsure of the opponent's position."

It is a bit tricky I know. Are you clear on the "turning" rule now? There is a big chance of being hit when the player turns on the ball.

Back to top

Sorry, only members can post replies on this and all other Members` Forum items.

Join Here - It`s fast and it`s free!

Check other member benefits here...


Support Squashgame

Support us here at Squashgame.info! If you think we helped you, please consider our Squash Shop when purchasing or make a small contribution.

Products Now Available

Dunlop Sports Pro XX Squash Ball - 3 Ball Tube

Price: $10.99 (us)

HEAD Nano Ti 110 Squash Racquet

Price: $44.01 (us)

HEAD i110 Squash Racquet, 110g

Price: $52.42 (us)

Dunlop Sports Pro XX Squash 3 Ball Tube

Price: $10.99 (us)

Dunlop Squash Court Pack

Price: $54.95 (us)