Info for Your Squashgame

Turning and interference rules

Published: 13 Feb 2006 - 06:58 by aprice1985

Updated: 24 Sep 2008 - 12:24

Subscribers: Log in to subscribe to this post.

I was just wondering about turning after the serve, you are not permitted to turn unnessecarily but how is that defined.  Off a serve could you turn if you already played at the shot, missed and turned to have another go?  I personally dislike the thought of any turning being permitted off the serve as i feel you can always move to hit off the correct hand

With interfernce can you claim if you are hitting the ball and brush but not really hit you opponent in the follow through if your swing was reasonable?

squash game squash extras How to add images to Members' Forum posts and replies here... PSA Squash TV - North American Open 2012

Replies...

Please Note: The most recent replies are now at the top!

From rippa rit - 13 Feb 2006 - 11:29   -   Updated: 13 Feb 2006 - 11:32

Extract from the WSF Rules Forum
Question: "Can you please explain the TURNING rule?
Answer: The rule regarding turning has been changed in the 2001 rules. Turning is allowed, but now if the opponent is hit with the ball after the striker has turned the stroke is awarded to the opponent. However if the opponent makes a deliberate movement to intercept the shot then the stroke is awarded to the striker. In general if you want to turn and do not know where your opponent is, you should hold your shot and appeal for a let which should be granted. If you are sure that your shot after turning will miss your opponent then you are entitled to continue with the rally and no penalty applies. If you find that in playing your shot after turning your swing is interfered with by the opponent not moving out of the way, you can request a let for interference. The let should be granted.
Category: 07. Turning"

The fact that the "turning" happened on a serve makes no difference to the rule enforcement.

Back to top

From raystrach - 13 Feb 2006 - 08:09

hi aprice

turning...
  • the whole idea of the new rule is to prevent players from turning as a matter of choice as used to happen with some players.
  • if a player has attempted to hit the ball, failed, then turned in a second attempt, there would usually be no problem as it may well have been the only option - in other words there was no real choice in order to return the ball.
  • If a player is genuinely beaten by a serve (not necessarily making a first attempt), turning  would normally be ok if there were little other options
  • if a player simply made the choice to turn on the ball when other options were readily available - stroke to the opponent

interference
  • In the case of interference, my reading of it would be that there would only be cause for interference if the striker "pulled" or restricted the shot and call let immediately.
  • If the shot was played fully, there should be no let as contact as made after the ball was hit - the trajectory of the ball will not have been altered.
  • It might be different if contact was made before striking. in any case, let would have to be called immediately contact occurred.

Back to top

Sorry, only members can post replies on this and all other Members` Forum items.

Join Here - It`s fast and it`s free!

Check other member benefits here...


Support Squashgame

Support us here at Squashgame.info! If you think we helped you, please consider our Squash Shop when purchasing or make a small contribution.

Products Now Available

Dunlop Sports Pro XX Squash 3 Ball Tube

Price: $10.99 (us)

HEAD Nano Ti 110 Squash Racquet

Price: $44.67 (us)

Dunlop Sports Pro XX Squash Ball - 3 Ball Tube

Price: $10.99 (us)

HEAD Spark Edge Squash Racquet

Price: $32.06 (us)

Dunlop Sports Pro XX Squash Ball - Dozen Pack

Price: $39.99 (us)