Info for Your Squashgame

let or let stroke?

Published: 14 Jul 2011 - 08:17 by acw10016

Updated: 14 Jul 2011 - 10:08

Subscribers: Log in to subscribe to this post.

I was playing in a heated match the other day.   I had hit a loose forehand rail that bounced out into the middle of the court, and stepped into the back of the court and behind my opponent so he could play it.  He was set up to hit the ball... and then simply let it drop back.  The ball hit me.

Now, I had been told of a rule in college ball that you are only required to clear once for your opponent, and it is only a let in this precise situation.  Hopefully someone here can clarify this for me!

squash game squash extras How to add images to Members' Forum posts and replies here...


Please Note: The most recent replies are now at the top!

From mike - 14 Jul 2011 - 10:08

 Clearing once may not be enough in squash. The player is entitled to hit the ball at any time before it bounces twice. So they are entitled to forgoe an opportunity to hit early and wait, and wait, and if you are preventing their swing at the time they want to play it will be a stroke.

The ball hit you, so that will usually be a stroke to your opponent. The exception is if they made an attempt (not just shaping, but actually starting a downswing), missed and the ball came through and hit you—that would be a let.

Back to top

Sorry, only members can post replies on this and all other Members` Forum items.

Join Here - It`s fast and it`s free!

Check other member benefits here...

Support Squashgame

Support us here at! If you think we helped you, please consider our Squash Shop when purchasing or make a small contribution.

Products Now Available

US Squash Shop



Squash Balls


Squash Rackets

Sport and Leisure

Video Games


Facebook Link



Very nice perceptions

Sorry, logins temporarily disabled

We hope to see you back soon when we launch our updated site.