Info for Your Squashgame

the foot fault rule.

Published: 27 May 2012 - 01:02 by terry dubery

Updated: 28 May 2012 - 14:50

Subscribers: Log in to subscribe to this post.

Guys at the club were debating the foot fault rule today.

To the best of my knowledge one foot ( say the left foot ) must be grounded in the service box at the time of the server striking the ball.

Is the right foot then allowed to touch any of the line demarcating the service box.

It has always been my understanding that the server must not allow any foot to touch the line demarcating the service box.




Terry Dubery



squash game squash extras How to add images to Members' Forum posts and replies here...


Please Note: The most recent replies are now at the top!

From raystrach - 28 May 2012 - 14:50

hi terry

it is quite simple.

as long as one foot (or part of one foot eg the toe of your shoe) is completely within the service box area at the point of contact  of the serve, it is a good serve. once that condition is met, the position of the other foot becomes irrelevant.



Back to top

From rippa rit - 27 May 2012 - 18:18

The Relevant Content tab has brought up some discussion on rules.

Here is the link to the World Squash Federation Rules of the Game, see Rule 4.4.1 re foot faults.

Back to top

Sorry, only members can post replies on this and all other Members` Forum items.

Join Here - It`s fast and it`s free!

Check other member benefits here...

Support Squashgame

Support us here at! If you think we helped you, please consider our Squash Shop when purchasing or make a small contribution.

Products Now Available

US Squash Shop



Squash Balls


Squash Rackets

Sport and Leisure

Video Games


Facebook Link



I definitely am hungry for more - and even more motivated

Sorry, logins temporarily disabled

We hope to see you back soon when we launch our updated site.