Turning - Rule 9
Published: 14 Jul 2004 - 03:18 by rippa rit
Updated: 25 Aug 2004 - 03:48
Subscribers: Log in to subscribe to this post.
...the striker has physically followed the ball around and turned, or
...the ball has passed around the striker and the striker strikes the ball to the right of the body after the ball has passed to the left (or vice versa).
If the striker has turned but chooses not to continue the rally and asks for a let, this is not an automatic let situation. The referee must be satisfied that both:
1. The striker would have been able to make a good return, and
2. There must have been a reasonable fear of the ball hitting the opponent.
3. If the striker turns and hits the opponent, with the ball going directly to the front wall, the referee awards a stroke to the opponent, unless the opponent made a deliberate movement to intercept the return, in which case the referee awards the stroke to the striker.
The Referee does not allow a let if the Referee decides that the act of turning was to create the opportunity to appeal rather than an attempt to play the ball.
How to add images to Members' Forum posts and replies here...
There are no replies to this post to date. Make your reply below
Sorry, only members can post replies on this and all other Members` Forum items.
Support us here at Squashgame.info! If you think we helped you, please consider our Squash Shop when purchasing or make a small contribution.