Info for Your Squashgame


Published: 11 Jul 2007 - 19:55 by dave58stewart

Updated: 01 Oct 2007 - 05:58

Subscribers: Log in to subscribe to this post.

I have been told that I am not allowed to serve the ball above my head, like in tennis but with both feet on the floor. I have read the rules but cannot find anything that actually says how high the ball can be hit above the head if at all.



squash game squash extras How to add images to Members' Forum posts and replies here...


Please Note: The most recent replies are now at the top!

From sympeltun - 01 Oct 2007 - 05:58

thanks for letting me know that rippa rit

looks like i have to adjust my serve..


Back to top

From hamburglar - 30 Sep 2007 - 08:42

If you hit that to me, i'd either let it come off the backwall and hit an easy shot, or drop volley it before you've even got both feet on the ground. Just cause you hit it harder at the front wall doesn't mean it comes off the front wall that much faster.

Back to top

From rippa rit - 30 Sep 2007 - 07:52

sympeltun - welcome to the forum.
In serving,  one foot must remain on the floor within the service box.

It would be impossible to jump while having one foot on the floor I would think. You probably need to adjust your service to make it legal.

This Service link might be helpful

Back to top

From sympeltun - 30 Sep 2007 - 04:49

are you allowed to jump while serving? i want to know this because my serve has more accuracy and power because of jumping.

Back to top

From rippa rit - 13 Jul 2007 - 06:17   -   Updated: 13 Jul 2007 - 06:19

Rule 4. Service
4.3 To serve a player shall release the ball from either a hand or the racket and then strike it.  Should the player make no attempt to strike it after that release, the player shall release the ball again for that service.

4.4.2 The server, after releasing the ball for service, strikes it correctly on the first or further attempt before the ball falls to the floor, touches a wall, or touches, anything the server wears.

Dave, in short ,throw the ball as high as you like in serving (but don't connect with the ceiling or the wall or floor) before hitting it onto the front wall.
I have seen one case where a player has projected the ball from his racket.  Why?
He only had one hand (the hand he held the racket in).

Back to top

From raystrach - 11 Jul 2007 - 22:57

we really need to start collecting these gems!

the library has a summary of many of these rules but quickly:
  • you can hit the ball any way any how a long as it
    • hits the front wall above the cut lineafter the hit and
    • it lands in the opposite service court and
    • does not go out in the meantime

you need part of at least one foot fully in the service box (ie without touch one of the lines) when you strike the ball for the serve

Back to top

Sorry, only members can post replies on this and all other Members` Forum items.

Join Here - It`s fast and it`s free!

Check other member benefits here...

Support Squashgame

Support us here at! If you think we helped you, please consider our Squash Shop when purchasing or make a small contribution.

Products Now Available

US Squash Shop



Squash Balls


Squash Rackets

Sport and Leisure

Video Games