Info for Your Squashgame

balls between the legs :)

Published: 29 Mar 2006 - 05:00 by lowrider

Updated: 24 Sep 2008 - 12:29

Subscribers: Log in to subscribe to this post.

the question i have is regarding lets or strokes when I, the stroker, hit the ball to the front wall, it comes back directly at me and the only thing i can do to avoid it hitting me is let it go through my legs.  this generally allows my partner to get a good shot but sometimes it is hard for him to see.
i realize that strokes are usually awarded when you hit the ball and it follows you not allowing a return for the opponent, but what about if there really is nothing you can do?
my partner and i never really call let or award strokes on these things, but we were wondering.
any help is always appreciated.

squash game squash extras How to add images to Members' Forum posts and replies here...


Please Note: The most recent replies are now at the top!

From lowrider - 30 Mar 2006 - 14:04

again,  thanks guys.

your opinions help clear that up quite a bit.

Back to top

From rippa rit - 30 Mar 2006 - 07:10

Rule 12 is the applicable rule to really digest. 
It is  the one that causes most concern in interpretation.
It takes a while to understand it, but just keep re-reading it until it makes sense.

Back to top

From raystrach - 29 Mar 2006 - 18:52


if it causes interference it's a stroke, if it doesn't it isn't...

  1. if the other bloke is stranded up the front when you do it and you get out of the way before he has a chance to recover, no problem
  2. if he is behind you (or anywhere for that matter) and ready to hit when you are in the way, stroke against you (if his hit could hit you with a ball going directly towards the front wall - any angle)

Back to top

From lowrider - 29 Mar 2006 - 11:30

thanks guys.  i have read those rules and that is why i asked.  if the ball goes between my legs and gives the striker freedom to play the ball,  and he plays the ball, is that a stroke?  and no, this is not happening in the middle of the court.  it is usually when i play a tight shot  in the corner and i am at the front of the court because of the shot he made,  there fore making it very difficult to move to the T in time.

once again, thanks, sorry if its a trouble.

Back to top

From rippa rit - 29 Mar 2006 - 08:30   -   Updated: 29 Mar 2006 - 08:32

It is good you are having fun. 
However, It would be a good idea to look at our practical rules section, particularly Rule 12 (Interference) - have a good read.  Yes, you must get out of the way and give the incoming striker freedom to play the ball, and if you are unable to, accidental or not, it is a stroke to the opponent. That is a better option than a hit in the chops.
Here is the link to WSF's  FREE print out of "An Idiots Guide to the Rules" and that would be worth putting in your squash bag for reference.  The official rules are not easy to interpret and something in down to earth language is a lot easier to follow.

Back to top

From SamBWFC - 29 Mar 2006 - 07:38

It's quite strange to be playing a shot that comes directly back at you. Where does this normally happen? If you're stood on the T, and it's coming back to you in the middle of the court, I suggest you start practicing getting width on your shots so the ball goes near the side walls.

If it's coming back to you down one side of the court, practice moving to the T after playing a shot. This should get rid of this problem happening and you won't need the question answering anymore!

Back to top

Sorry, only members can post replies on this and all other Members` Forum items.

Join Here - It`s fast and it`s free!

Check other member benefits here...

Support Squashgame

Support us here at! If you think we helped you, please consider our Squash Shop when purchasing or make a small contribution.

Products Now Available

US Squash Shop



Squash Balls


Squash Rackets

Sport and Leisure

Video Games